Wikipedia says that a pilgriamage is a journey or search of moral or spiritual significance.  Is it possible to travel to Jerusalem and have it NOT be a pilgrimage?   Definitely not for me.

As I sit in a bar at Pearson, VERY relaxed after two glasses of wine and contemplating my next two weeks of adventure, I understand that I don’t fully understand what kind of pilgrimage I am embarking on – but part of the adventure will be figuring that out.  Somehow the excitement for this adventure (at least currently) has overshadowed all other areas of my life.  My family.  My business.  My communities.  Well, maybe it doesn’t REALLY overshadow anything.  Because I take it all with me.  Being a mother.  A wife.  A daughter.  A coach.  A synagogue vice-president.  A sister.  A Jew.  They’re not compartments.  I’m as good at compartmentalizing as I am holding back my tears.

I’m so excited to see how this adventure feeds all these things that I am.  And I’m already worried that there won’t be enough kleenex…

