I started a 30 day mindfulness challenge on Monday. My older (and periodically wiser) sister invited me to be her buddy for the challenge and I eagerly said yes. (Mindwell U’s 30 day mindfulness challenge)   Full disclosure: I’m a sucker for 30 day challenges. Clearly I’m not alone, since they’re everywhere. This particular challenge appealed to me for a) extra motivation to practice mindfulness, b) learning about a tool that I can bring into my coaching/consulting work and c) partnering with my older sister. Win-win-win.

I’m going to use my blog for the next four weeks to chronicle my physical and mental adventures as I increase my mindfulness. Three days in and I’m already reaping the benefits in comical and significant ways – some at the same time. Which brings me to my USS Enterprise encounter.

I was waiting in line at my neighbourhood Starbucks yesterday morning, as I do many mornings. Yesterday, I thought I would make the most of my few minutes in line and set myself up for successful work over the next few hours, so I used the tool called Take5 that I had learned the day before through the 30 day mindfulness challenge materials. The brief process involves 1) Identifying what I want the mindfulness break to bring me (e.g. engagement, focus, energy, etc.), 2) Grounding myself mentally by becoming aware of my surroundings, 3) Grounding myself physically by becoming aware of my feet and hands, 4) Regulating my breathing and then taking at least 5 breaths of approximately 10 seconds each and then 5) Opening my awareness up to the present moment.  Well, in that moment, as I looked around Starbucks, I found that the light fixture over the coffee bar bears a striking resemblance to the USS Enterprise.  (I don’t know which USS Enterprise, I’m geeky enough to see the USS Enterprise in light fixtures, but not geeky enough to be able to visualize all the USS Enterprise iterations.)  It was so fun when I realized that! I shared my insight with the nice guy who serves me coffee most mornings and we enjoyed the vision of it together. Then I turned myself to my work – energized and focused.

That kind of experience (minus the pop culture visions) has been replicated multiple times over the past two days. I have generated ideas that I’m really proud of. I’ve dialled into conversations in a more concentrated way than usual. I have met more of my encounters with intention than I remember ever doing before.  That is really the best part –  I am practicing thinking with intention and it is leading to productivity, lots of energy and very good feelings.

Stay tuned – who knows what I might find as I keep opening my eyes throughout the next 27 days.

